You’ve had some troubled times.

We are happy now, but yes, we had our troubled times too. I was producing a movie and was away from home for the longest time. When I work I put my heart and soul into it. I shot day and night. Being a writer and producer I used to sit and discuss the script at night since we were shooting in the day. Maria was very angry with me. We had a fight. But then I realised she was right. There is no job that is more important than your home and your family. I give myself to my work completely and I had to apologise to Maria. I think if I were in her place I would have been angry, too. I sat down and thought it over. It has all been sorted out and we’re still together. I love them too much to leave them.

What did you do to keep your marriage working?

I take time off, spend time at home, and always make her happy. I’ve realised that we have to make time for our loved ones. So next time onwards I will have breaks during my shoot to spend time with my family. I will hire competent people and balance my dates. I spend time on Sundays with my children. I take them for rides on the bike. We fight and play water sports. For them it is a junk day. We go on family holidays.

Who is the first one to say sorry and sort out fights between you?

I am the one who says sorry. Saying sorry is meditative for me.

What kind of a father are you?

I am more attached to my son more than my daughter. My girl is much stronger. She has her own mind. You can’t fool her and take her for a ride. If she wants to do something, she will do it no matter what. She is very organised just like Maria. My son is innocent. He is very naive. I think I see more of me in him. I am quite gullible and many people have taken advantage. I have cameras all over my house and I would watch them from anywhere in the world. Since I’m out most of the time, I give them a lot of freedom. Whenever I am at home I have a blast with them. We go for long drives and we talk about so many things. It’s important to have that kind of relationship. I didn’t have a cycle and I bought it when I started earning. I won a dancing competition and travelled abroad with my money. Everything came late in my life. My kids are blessed; they have everything they want, but we don’t spoil them.

Do you want your children to follow your profession?

We will support them in whatever they do. My daughter is a natural and that is big trouble.

Arshad Warsi and Maria Goretti  Through thick and thin - 71Arshad Warsi and Maria Goretti  Through thick and thin - 86Arshad Warsi and Maria Goretti  Through thick and thin - 67